I bet we can all relate to that moment when we have had digital sales executives give us a good pitch and talk about various digital terms that go over our heads and sound very complicated. It can be a little daunting and off putting to be bombarded with acronyms and terms that we cannot understand.
Well, here is a breakdown of some of those mind numbing terms;
1. Traffic / sessions
Traffic or sessions as they are commonly known are statistics used to measure the number visitors to a website as well as monitor how effective it is.
Impressions are the number of times a link or advert is shown to users. On Social Media, an impression is recorded every time a post or tweet is shown to a user. Each time the post or tweet is shown, an impression is recorded even if the viewers of the post/tweet might be the same.
3. Cost per a thousand (Cost Per Mille - CPM)
This is the cost of every a thousand impressions of an advert or link. If your company’s objective is to just create awareness by showing a post, link or advert to as many people as possible, you will be charged for the number of impressions your content receives, and on this the standard is to measure in thousands, thus cost per mille or cost per a thousand.
4. Click through rate (CTR)
This is a percentage that shows the number of times a particular link is clicked on (in web page, search engine result page, social media, etc) versus the total number of times the link was seen or appeared in search results.
Therefore if a link to your company website’s home page appears 10 times in ‘search results’ but the link is clicked on only twice, the CTR for your homepage address is 2/10 x100 = 20%.
5. Cost per click (CPC)
This applies where your company chooses to pay for only the number of clicks to its website or on its advert or social media post. CPC s the amount the company pays for every click.
6. Call to action
This is a phrase that appears within an advert, post or web page which is used to entice the visitor of the web page or viewer of the advert/post to take a specific action such as call, download an ebook, fill out a contact form, make an order or subscribe to a newsletter.
This is a measure of the number of times people have completed the required action on a page or advert. The definition of a conversion varies depending on the goals that have been set for a specific content or offering. For example; if this post were created in order to get people to subscribe to the dreamstar digital blog, every time a person reads this and subscribes to our blog we record it as ‘a conversion’, if the goal was to get you to follow us on Facebook, every follow we got from this page gets recorded as a conversion.
8. conversion optimization, or conversion rate optimization(CRO)
Are techniques used by webmasters and marketers to increase the percentage of visitors to a website that convert into customers, or more generally, take any desired action on a webpage. It is commonly referred to as CRO.
9. Search engine optimization
Search engine optimization or SEO as it is commonly known are techniques used by marketers and webmasters to make websites or web-pages rank highly for specific keywords in search engines results pages (SERPs). For more about SEO please subscribe to our blog.
Keywords are words or phrases in web page content that are geared to help visitors find your website. For example, any word or statement you type on Google to get what you want on the internet is a key word. It could be a word such as ‘sugar’ or a statement such ‘1st inbound digital marketing agency in Uganda’
11. Organic traffic
This refers to all the visits a website gets naturally or through unpaid means for example Google Search, Social Media, Email and directly typing a url in the web browser.
Vera Nshemeire is the Client Relations Manager at dreamstar digital